Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Frontpage Extensions Vs .htaccess

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 carninesix

carninesix

• Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:04 PM

Posted 19 October 2006 - 10:13 PM

Hello peeps,

I am new to running my own web site, so lots of questions. Most of the time a search finds an answer, this one I could not see.

OK first, host is LUNARPAGES on UNIX/LINUX, I know its not Windows2003 server. Anyway I have FP 2003 and can design in FP and publish via FTP, that all works fine.

The question is, should I install FP extensions or stay with the original .htaccess stuff. There is a big disclaimer about installing FP extensions as it removes the .htaccess protection.

This question has arrizen from the need to have password protected pages on the e-commerce site. Users can join and have access to all pages. I don't want to run the e-commerce site in a PHP style as this limits what I can do as far as design goes.

I am hosting two (2) separate sites, 1 will be e-commerce the other a PHP style game clan website.

I am hoping that that is enough information for those that understand such things.

Steve