Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

I Am New To Overclocking. What Should I Oc To?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 SPL Tech

SPL Tech

• Members
  • 52 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:50 PM

Posted 18 October 2006 - 11:52 PM

I just got a new custom computer and I am possibly looking to overclock it. But first of all what exactly is overclocking? I understand the basics of what it is, but I would like a little more detailed information of what it involves. Secondly, what do I all need to overclock my system? What do I need to do to overclock my system? And what is a SAFE speed to over clock to? I don’t want to burn anything up. I have my case’s temperature sensor attacked to my CPU’s heatsink, and on average it reads 70 degrees F. It never goes over 85 degrees F.

This is what I have:

Memory: CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model TWIN2X2048-6400 - Retail

Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 Conroe 1066MHz FSB LGA 775 Processor Model BX80557E6400 - Retail

Mobo: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 Socket T (LGA 775) Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

Keyboard: Sunbeam EL-KB-07SL 2-Tone PS/2 Wired Standard Illuminated Keyboard - Retail

PSU: ENERMAX Whisper II EG565P-VE FMA(24P) ATX12V 535W Power Supply - Retail