Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Malwarebytes Premium & Defender

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 redmed

redmed

• Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:12 AM

Posted 11 December 2018 - 11:09 AM

I have been running Malwarebytes Premium and Defender for about two years based on a article I read.  I wonder is this still a good combination?  Does running Malwarebytes realtime protection cause Defender to become passive?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 britechguy

britechguy

Been there, done that, got the T-shirt

• 9,914 posts
  •  

Posted 11 December 2018 - 11:21 AM

If you are talking about Windows Defender under Windows 8.1 or 10, you can open it's main settings page and see whether it is currently inactive for certain functions or not.  It changed name to Windows Security as of Windows 10, Version 1809, but you can still find the settings with a search on Windows Defender, too.

I have never understood exactly what Malwarebytes has implemented as far as its realtime protection, and all my reading indicates it is not a full-fledged security solution (although their marketing suggests it is).

You would be wise to simply check to see what Windows Defender functions are indicated as being active. 

Brian  AKA  Bri the Tech Guy (website in my user profile) - Windows 10 Home, 64-Bit, Version 1809, Build 17763