Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Getting an encrypted file decrypted again

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 catsears

catsears

• Members
  • 31 posts
  •  

Posted 02 August 2018 - 03:19 PM

ok newbie here; awhile back I encrypted some photos/docs on my other computer.  everything was backed up; now I want to open those items but dont know how.

have a userkey.psw but when I click it is suggesting going to windows to download a program; dont know which psw prog to download.

also have an icon on my drive that says "encrypt certifi file" that I apparently named.

so, can I open these files, and if so, how? dont understand all this mess. can anyone tell me how in laymans terms or is it best just to forget it? I wanted to open this if possible to remind me what it was and why it was encrypted.....duh....

thanks!

Edited by britechguy, 04 August 2018 - 11:26 AM.
Changed title to match the actual question

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 catsears

catsears
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 31 posts
  •  

Posted 04 August 2018 - 08:46 AM

hi, cant anyone help me with this?  thanks

#3 pcpunk

pcpunk

• Members
  • 5,865 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:42 AM

Posted 04 August 2018 - 09:58 AM