Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Newbie and Need Help. Ethernet drivers issue.

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 HFalcon

HFalcon

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:04 AM

Posted 30 July 2018 - 11:56 AM

Hello. I'm a total newbie here and I need some serious (to a newb like me anyways) help.
If this is in the wrong place or I've done something wrong I apologize in advance and if anyone could help it is much appreciated.

Here is the situation,

I have very old computers. Like 15 years old. Somehow I'm still struggling along and managing to use the internet still. Barely.
A friend recently tried to help me out by giving me one of his older work computers. It's old but still newer then my old ones.
So I hook it up, I log in with the info he gave me and I try running the internet. Well it wont load any pages. I check the network connections and it says it;s connected but nothing loads. Well it being a work PC it is connected to a domain. So I figure it's not going to work because it's locked to the domain and is looking for it. Or something like that.

So I want to start fresh. So I find the option to change it from a work pc to a "this computer will be used for home use" or something like that and I change it. It asks me to reboot so I do.