Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Simulation Computer

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 patbounds10

patbounds10

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:40 AM

Posted 26 July 2018 - 09:52 AM

Hi I am new to the PC scene and need a bit of advice. I am an engineer in school and on a budget. I do simulations and some limited cad modeling. I recently decided I want to get a home work station to do a little bit of this kind of stuff so I don't always have to go into the office or I can work on personal projects.

I don't game and really don't ever see myself doing that. This being said I found a dual CPU Dell powereege t410 used for 250. I was wondering if someone could tell me if this is:

1. A good price?
  2.  If this can do the types of computational work that I want to do? (I know that with it's 16 gigs of ram it can't do everything sim wise but I can upgrade to a bit higher like 64 gigs of ram over time or use my office for bigger sims as some sims take 300+ gigs of ram)
  3. Would there be a better option for this work that is relative cheap for a student? (Sub 600)

Thanks

Edited by patbounds10, 26 July 2018 - 10:30 AM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 MadmanRB

MadmanRB

Spoon!!!!

• Members
  • 3,073 posts
  •  

Posted 26 July 2018 - 10:18 AM