Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

When is the best time to buy a GPU?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 jcgonzmo

jcgonzmo

• Members
  • 18 posts
  •  

Posted 24 July 2018 - 04:25 PM

I have no experience building or buying computer components. I recently had to build  a new one only because my 5 year old computer died. I currently have:

Intel i5 8400
16gb Ram 2666mhz
750W PSU

ASUS 27" LED 1080p (1920x1080) (5 years old) that can handle 85 Hz vertical refresh rate
Old GPU I am using PowerColor PCS+ AMD Radeon HD 7870 Myst. Edition 2 GB GDDR5

I had in my mind a 1060, 1070 (but waiting for the price to go down) or wait for the new version. I could buy a card now and had it ship this Friday or wait until January. (I do not live in USA so this are moments where I would travel there). Any advice? I mainly play on consoles, but now that I had to build a new PC I want to upgrade it for the next 5 years. I will mainly do 1080p gaming.

Edited by hamluis, 24 July 2018 - 05:11 PM.
Moved from Computer Gaming to Building/Upgrading - Hamluis.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 MadmanRB

MadmanRB

Spoon!!!!

• Members
  • 3,168 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:55 PM

Posted 24 July 2018 - 08:24 PM

Well its going to be some time before any new cards come out, at least a year.