Jump to content


 


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.


Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

"Your connection isn't secure" message following VPN installation/uninstallation


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 dave11

dave11

  • Members
  • 1 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:01:20 AM

Posted 10 July 2018 - 05:54 AM

I've tried installing a free VPN "Windscribe" to watch wimbledon tennis streams from outside the UK: sadly the stream was chopped, so i uninstalled it using Comodo programs manager (with the hidden files too)
 
Then on most betting sites (with some exceptions) i always get  "Your connection isn't secure" with  "NET::ERR_CERT_AUTHORITY_INVALID" and "someone is trying to steal your details". In all browsers.

I've checked their SSL certificates, and they're all valid.

 

Though home banking and gmail are ok on all browsers too.

 

I of course know there are a million reasons to get this warning, and i checked them all.

So, just to be safe, i reinstalled all my windows 7 system from an image: but it didn't fix the warning.

 

So, am i paranoid, or do these free VPN install malware? It would have to be on my router, as i get the same warning from another computer connected to the router.


Edited by dave11, 10 July 2018 - 06:10 AM.


BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

 


#2 Replicator

Replicator

  • Members
  • 306 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dark Basement
  • Local time:10:20 AM

Posted 10 July 2018 - 09:11 AM

They just want to entice you with a free VPN, ultimately leading to their paid service for what you term as 'unchopped' content.

 

Nothing is for free today.....remember that, and you will be able to make the best choices!

 

I doubt very much that they promote malicious content, installed on remote systems........as a rule, they would be blacklisted very quickly!

 

Your warnings are most likely 'false positives' from your noisy (free) security software.

 

https://www.bestvpn.com/review/windscribe-vpn/


Edited by Replicator, 10 July 2018 - 09:14 AM.

The quieter you become, the more you are able to hear!
CEH, CISSP @ WhiteHat Computers Pty Ltd

 


#3 Didier Stevens

Didier Stevens

  • BC Advisor
  • 2,751 posts
  • ONLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Local time:12:20 AM

Posted 10 July 2018 - 01:01 PM

1) can you confirm that I understand this correctly: you reinstalled your Windows 7 machine and you still get the same errors?

2) what about other machines in your network, like PCs, tablets, phones, ...: do they show errors when you visit the same sites?

3) can you check the clock of your machine and confirm that the date is correct?


Edited by Didier Stevens, 10 July 2018 - 01:07 PM.

Didier Stevens
http://blog.DidierStevens.com
http://DidierStevensLabs.com

SANS ISC Senior Handler
Microsoft MVP 2011-2016 Consumer Security, Windows Insider MVP 2016-2019
MVP_Horizontal_BlueOnly.png

 

If you send me messages, per Bleeping Computer's Forum policy, I will not engage in a conversation, but try to answer your question in the relevant forum post. If you don't want this, don't send me messages.

 

Stevens' law: "As an online security discussion grows longer, the probability of a reference to BadUSB approaches 1.0"


#4 muroga

muroga

  • Members
  • 34 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Local time:12:20 AM

Posted 10 July 2018 - 01:15 PM

That could just be from the browser unless it mentions the Vpns or something like that in which case it may not be totally unistalled properly but this wouldnt keep happening after a reinstalll from a clean image.
Id say it might just be the your system trying to tell you to be very cautious which isnt really something to worry about although you'd be better off not going keeping from these sites in general.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users