Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Laptop LED screens

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 trytibbs

trytibbs

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:30 AM

Posted 04 June 2018 - 12:57 PM

I'm an old boy who still repairs PC's. That said, I have no knowledge on how LED screens work. This is the first time I've run into a problem with an LED screen that has a darker spot in the upper screen. Usually, these screens are broken and it's a matter of replacement. This one baffles me. The laptop HDMI out works great. No problems. I'm assuming the screen is bad. Any advice?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Chris Cosgrove

Chris Cosgrove

• 6,722 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:30 PM

Posted 04 June 2018 - 06:34 PM

First of all - welcome to BC !

It may well be a damaged screen but whether or not it needs to be changed depends on the owner's needs. If they are doing graphics work or gaming on it then, probably yes. However I have an elderly acquaintance with an almost as elderly and considerably more battered Samsung notebook. I am constantly amazed that it still works !  This has a 'smudge' in roughly the shape of a letter'C' rotated 90o clockwise across the bottom and right hand third side of the screen.