Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Will be completely unplugged computer for a week duration, can it mess up BIOS?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 ThankYouSir

ThankYouSir

• Members
  • 21 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:00 PM

Posted 17 May 2018 - 09:20 AM

Hello, I'm not good at computer stuff, and I have anxiety, so I'm worry about this.

I have to be gone for a week, go back to my hometown in China. Here in the U.S. my home have two desktop computers (one Windows 7 and one Windows 10).

Due to away for one week long (7 days), I live in a state prone to earthquake, plus we do have power outage, and when I be gone it will be in the fall, and here in the fall it does rain.
So I really think unplugged the computer is needed (unplugged the power strips from the wall).

But I heard stories about some people said where they unplugged their computer and when they come back from vacation plugged it back and the computer kist won't turn on (due to be off for one week long).
I also heard about the BIOS setting will be mess up or reset itself due to computer unplugged for one week.