Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Nvidia Graphics Driver Question

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 pcpunk

pcpunk

• Members
  • 6,350 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:20 AM

Posted 12 May 2018 - 08:00 PM

I'm working on this HP dv7-3183c and am a total noob to all this graphics stuff.  Sure I've heard and read all kinds of posts saying to use the Driver from the OEM as that is the one that is designed for the pc.  I've tried a few different things over the years as far as graphics drivers, and believe it or not have good luck with MS Drivers over the OEM ones. 

Just did a Clean Install of Windows 7-64bit Retail version, so had to install all the drivers, and always wonder if I would get better performance with the newer drivers straight from Nvidia.  I've done mostly older, lower end AMD stuff, and the MS Drivers always seem to work the best on those.  Now been working on more old Nvidia stuff so need to learn a little.  Unfortunately the MS Drivers don't tell you a version number that coincides with Nvidia, ditto the HP Drivers.  I see that the MS Driver is from 2016, but Nvidia has very current drivers available, just this month, May 9th.

So now I have a few questions if you guys don't mind.  I don't need the real Technical Scoop, but maybe just the layman's run down.

Computer Spec Link

This is the model: NVIDIA GeForce G105M