Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Looking for most resource-friendly network monitor software, ideas, etc.

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Snaxforgandhi

Snaxforgandhi

• Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:05 AM

Posted 10 May 2018 - 03:32 AM

Hi!

I'm a total newb so please assume I know nothing ('cuz it's true) and I find that for various reasons I would like to be able to have a record of all network activity on my PC. Searches have returned oodles of different options but I don't know enough to suss out strengths/weaknesses. My requirements are that I have a reference-able log of all activity that isn't eating up a ton of space. I see that Wireshark captures are very manageable size-wise but Wireshark seems to be massively overkill for my needs and I can read Wireshark how-tos for about 30 seconds before my brain begins to smoke. Any help appreciated. (I truly hope I haven't grossly mis-posted here, sorry in advance if that's the case)

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Replicator

Replicator

• Members
  • 201 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:05 PM

Posted 10 May 2018 - 07:17 AM

Hi there,

Splunk is a leading Log Management application, and its free....... (indexing up to 500mb per day)