Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Can a hacked account infect my computer?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 spad27

spad27

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:43 AM

Posted 24 April 2018 - 06:53 PM

Hi forums!

I'm pretty new to tech stuff so I'm sorry if this sounds a bit ridiculous. I'm a huge PC gamer so i have game accounts that cost money and are really important to protect. If someone were to hack my computer or if I were to get a virus, would my accounts be forever compromised? Like I can't just change the password and be ok again if I were to move onto a new PC? Could they infect my new computer through it? I just want to know to have a heads up and any information would be appreciated!

Thanks y'all

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 britechguy

britechguy

Been there, done that, got the T-shirt

• 8,142 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:43 AM

Posted 24 April 2018 - 08:15 PM

Not that anything is impossible, but the scenario you describe is highly improbable. . . very highly improbable.

Brian  AKA  Bri the Tech Guy (website in my user profile) - Windows 10 Home, 64-Bit, Version 1803, Build 17134 

Memory is a crazy woman that hoards rags and throws away food.

~ Austin O'Malley

#3 MarkMackerel

MarkMackerel

• Members
  • 81 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:43 AM

Posted 25 April 2018 - 04:40 AM