Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

McAfee Update Turned Off my Firewall?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 spad27

spad27

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:56 AM

Posted 24 April 2018 - 06:26 PM

Hi forums!

I just wanted to know if anyone could help me out- I'm not too good at all with tech. So last night McAfee asked me to restart my computer to install its update and when I restarted it, I found my firewalls turned off. I use windows defender along with McAfee (the paid subscription kind). Windows started to block the programs on my computer even though they're legit and I hardly go on anything other than gmail, Reddit, tumblr, YouTube, etc on my browser so idk if it has something to do with that. I had to start up the firewall on my own after that.

As of now, I am doing a complete reset of it (the clean drive reset one) but want to know if that was necessary to begin with? Is that part of the update/ does it mean anything bad? I'm overall an anxious person so any reassurance would be nice.

Thanks, hope you have a good day

Edited by spad27, 24 April 2018 - 06:33 PM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 spad27

spad27
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  

Posted 24 April 2018 - 06:31 PM

^^^

Edited by spad27, 24 April 2018 - 06:34 PM.

#3 quietman7

quietman7

Bleepin' Janitor

• Global Moderator
  • 51,744 posts