Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

BIOS Update Failed - HELP PLEASE -

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 ghostdrifter11

ghostdrifter11

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:10 PM

Posted 19 April 2018 - 10:15 PM

-It should be noted that I have basic knowledge of PCs. All my knowledge comes from quick glances across google. Please use simple terminology for me to understand *lol*.-

Okay, so today I was in the midst of running a BIOS update onto my Dell Inspiron 3650 when it was "force shutdown" by somebody else in the household, and now my PC wont even turn on. I press the power button and it will turn on but for only a split second before turning back off again. I understand that this has more than likely royally screwed up my motherboard or other components such as my BIOS chip. I will be taking my baby (yes, I just said my baby) to a technician in the foreseeable future, but can I get a list of parts that could have been directly corrupted by this occurrence? Also a list of possible fixes would be nice with links to video demonstrations if possible. If there is anyway that I can also save all of the files on my PC that would be outstanding. I do understand, however, this this may not be possible. Thank you all so much in advance!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 mightywiz

mightywiz

• Members
  • 790 posts
  •