Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

USB Flash Drive - Ransomware or Malware?

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 T-Ruth

T-Ruth

• Members
  • 27 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:08 PM

Posted 19 April 2018 - 05:50 PM

Sorry if this is the wrong forum to post this in.  This is my first time posting on these forums and I don't know how much information you will need to resolve this problem.

I was wondering if there's a way to confirm if a USB flash drive is free of viruses, malware, and/or ransomware?

I used this USB flash drive back on Feb. 23rd with a computer (Windows XP) that was a part of a network.  The server was infected with Ransomware and all the files on the shared network were encrypted on Feb. 25th.  Supposedly nobody used any of the computers on the network on the 25th, so I suspect that the infection happened earlier and activated the Ransomware at a later date (I don't know if this is even possible).

I always remove the flash drive from the computer when I'm not using it, however, since I don't know when exactly the infection occurred, I really don't know if it was infected or not.

The tech that was hired was unable to decrypt the files and couldn't contact the hacker to pay the ransom, so we ended up replacing the computer with Windows 10 and restoring some of the files from an older backup.