Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Power supply burned, replaced but motherboard CPU_LED lights up, not booting up

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 dreampower78

dreampower78

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:38 AM

Posted 12 April 2018 - 03:57 AM

Hi,

I have been using mu desktop for over 5 years now. I have had some power issues such as overclocked failed and had to restart my computer etc. but my computer was working fine. A week ago, I smelled something was burning and it was coming from my computer. My computer was still working but I shut it down waited for some time and started the computer. It started then it shut down with a worse burnt smell. I took off the components and my power supply smelling pretty bad. The rest was smelling normal. 

I purchased another power supply and installed it but this time my red CPU_LED is always on and my computer does not boot up. I do not think any of the other components are burnt. I took everything apart and tried to boot it up. Even though I took the rams, I did not hear any sound indicating I am missing my rams. 

Then I looked at my CPU housing and it seems some of the pins are bent but I am not really sure. There also seems to be some sort of weird shadowy color on my CPU. I will attach my pictures here.