Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Will this new GPU work in my current PC?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 sakurasanta86

sakurasanta86

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:08 AM

Posted 02 April 2018 - 09:01 PM

Hey guys,

So I am not good with tech stuff at all so I need a bit of advice 

I have a PC which was custom built in early 2012 ... it hasn't had any update except adding a SSD and a new HDD storage drive. As much as I would love to get a whole new upgrade at $3000AU I'm a uni student and that price just won't work for me until I'm done with uni in another 2 years. But I really need to give me system a boost, mostly for gaming. I don't have to have the best thing out there, but something that'll perform significantly better. I'm thinking maybe I can add a new GPU to my current set up then maybe it'll tide me over until I can afford a full system upgrade.

Here's my current set up:

CPU: i7 3770 @ 3.40GHz 

Motherboard: Asus P8Z77-V LX (LGA1155)

RAM: 16GB DDR3 @ 668MHz 

Current GPU: 1023MB GeForce GTX 560

SSD: Samsung EVO 250GB

And I'm thinking of getting something like this maybe: GeForce GTX 1060 Gaming X (https://www.scorptec.com.au/product/Graphics-Cards/NVIDIA/64403-GEFORCE-GTX-1060-GAMING-X-6G)