Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Realtek PCIe GBE controller intermittently working...

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 MrSparrow

MrSparrow

• Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:50 AM

Posted 30 March 2018 - 09:51 AM

Hi! newbie here. After reading so many posts and trying all those fixes, which didn't work, I'm posting my problem here and hoping that some expert here may have a concrete solution for my weird NIC disappearing issue.

The problem is my Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller is completely out of my control.
My system configuration - Windows 7 x64bit, Gigabyte motherboard, Intel cpu, 8 GB RAM, onboard gpu, onboard LAN.
After a clean windows installation and then everything running good for few days, suddenly the internet connection is lost and Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller goes missing.
I go to the device manager and there I see 'Network Adapter' is entirely missing there. Then I check right side More Actions > View > Show Hidden Devices, and there I find the Network adapter but upon right clicking there's no options available. And if I expand it further there are all those WAN Miniports but no Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller.

Screenshot below-

4ta8up.jpg

No Realtek PCie GBE Family Controller there, a familiar nightmare for me nowadays.

What I've tried so far-