Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

A ??? About Running Windows Software on Linux

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 LittleGreenDots

LittleGreenDots

• Members
  • 443 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:23 PM

Posted 29 March 2018 - 11:19 AM

I am just getting started with Linux (Mint - Cinnamon) and have a wonder...

If I installed Wine on the computer, is my computer then subject to all the liberties that Microsoft takes in violating just about all my privacy issues on the machine?  I do not appreciate that Windows forces us to accept those terms (especially Windows 10!) in order to access software that has nothing to do with the Microsoft team, and I wonder about this.  I am hoping that I will be able to fully function with software that is Linux friendly, but there is some mighty nice programs written with Windows in mind.

Also, what about Macbooks?  I think there's a program that one can install on Mac that makes it possible to run Windows software.

Thanks.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 MadmanRB

MadmanRB

Spoon!!!!

• Members
  • 2,613 posts
  •  

Posted 29 March 2018 - 12:38 PM

Nope wine ids its own thing

As for Macs Wine is also on that

You know you want me baby!

Proud Linux user and dual booter.

Proud Vivaldi user.

ljxaqg-6.png

#3 Rocky Bennett

Rocky Bennett

• Members
  • 2,535 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:23 PM