Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Did I make a poor purchase choice?

• Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#1 PianoMan55

PianoMan55

• Members
  • 91 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:05 AM

Posted 13 March 2018 - 07:08 PM

I have been using an HP 8000 Elite for 4 years and has been a good one, but it recently started doing weird things. Malwarebytes said it looked like time for a new one. a lot of red flags in the Event Viewer, and none of my installed programs, such as Malwarebytes and HitManPro would not connect to internet, but I could go to Chrome with no problems. There were some unexplainable registry problems as well. That's way over my head.

I found an HP Pavilion 510 P010Z at an affordable price (refurbished) at Walmart.com. I have several TVs, PCs, and other electronics I have bought refurbished from Them with no problems. When I unpacked it just now, it is very small in size, but has 8GB RAM and 1TB HDD, 2.2Gz, AMD A8-7410 Quad Core. It is 64 bit with Win10 Home, but I have a Win 10 Pro install disk and will install it.