Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Use External Hard-drive to Boost Laptop's tiny memory?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 hobbitrox

hobbitrox

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:32 PM

Posted 04 March 2018 - 01:00 PM

Hi there all, newbie here. Sort of at the end of my tether. 

I bought a hp stream laptop with what I knew was a small memory (29.1 gigs.) I only wanted something to write documents on and check my email. Literally, just that: I don't use games, I don't do anything complicated. For that, I was assured the tiny memory would be fine.

However, the laptop operating system is windows 10 and the memory is so tiny windows 10 can't update. I've taken every unnecessary app and program that I can off the laptop (there are a few which windows won't let me remove.) I regularly clean up the memory and don't keep anything besides written files on the damn thing, and I still can't update.

There's a usb port and a slot for an ssid card, but no internal hard-drive (from what I can tell) which can be enlarged; would I be able to by an external hard-drive and save the updates to that instead? Buying a brand new laptop is not a possibility right now but I might be able to swing one of those. 

Any insight into whether this is a viable plan? Help a hobbit out! 

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 hamluis

hamluis

• 55,751 posts