Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Cleary infected but can't find the source.

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 BigWonTon

BigWonTon

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:40 PM

Posted 02 March 2018 - 09:00 AM

hello, all. im a new member and in need of some help. im not a complete novice and i usually manage to keep my machines free of viruses and malware using common tools but this time i havent had any success. i initially noticed last night i had a problem when chrome started redirecting my searches to bing. so, first thing i tried was malwarebytes and the scan came up clean. so then i tried to run avg free which had been working fine but now it wont open at all. i uninstalled it and downloaded it again to no avail. although the exe downloaded fine the machine will not allow me to install it. my next step was to try other free antivirus software but again, no luck,. i could download the exe files but the machine will not let me install them. i did manage to install avast and run it with no negative results. next i tried hitman pro, zemana, tdsskiller, rkill and ccleaner. one of these repaired the browser redirect but im still unable to install any other antivirus software other than avast. i tried to install a few of the antivirus programs in safe mode but still no go. clearly something is preventing these antivirus program