Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Wireless N Connection Constantly Drops To 5.5 Mbps

• Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 Blaine B.

Blaine B.

• Members
  • 187 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:07 AM

Posted 27 February 2018 - 06:58 PM

I have been chasing an issue here for a couple of months. To be honest, I did not really recognize it prior to the Windows 10 Creator's update, but I can't verify this for sure. I know a lot of folks had networking problems after the Creator's update. I'm not sure if my issue pertains to that or if it is a coincidence.

I am running a Windows 10 Pro machine with a Broadcom BCM43142 802.11 bgn Wi-Fi Adapter. I am also using a Linksys E1200 Wireless N router which is updated to the latest firmware.  I have a MAC Address filter for only allowing certain wireless devices to connect and also use WPA2-Personal security on top of that for added security.

My internet speeds in all actuality are somewhere around 50 Mbps from Comcast cable.