Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Newbie trying to get a machine to recognize new drive space

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Fortran7

Fortran7

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:18 AM

Posted 20 February 2018 - 10:15 PM

I'm a newbie here so have mercy!

I was asked by a friend to look at their Dell computer which is running on a Windows 7 Pro, 64 bit platform. The problem was it had a 128GB drive which was all but full (a few KB left). It seemed the Windows folder was responsible for taking up all that space which I knew was abnormal since it occupies less than 40GB in my own computer.

I took it to a nearby Staples computer center since I didnt feel that comfortable doing anything myself and they ran their DoctorPC program which cleaned it up but the problem remained and they were completely stumped. I didnt want to do a clean install because it would wipe out the programs on the machine and I wasnt sure if my friend even had them anymore. Taking it home, I bought a new 500GB drive and cloned the old drive to it using a StarTech cloner. When I started it up, the machine still showed a 128GB hard drive nearly full. Updates wouldnt load and the machine was barely operational because anything tended to exceed the memory limits.