Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

how encryption keys being generated?

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 amichaipinto

amichaipinto

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:28 AM

Posted 20 February 2018 - 05:59 AM

Hi All,

I'm a novice and was unable to understand the correct procedure in regards to how symmetric encryption algorithms (like DES/3DES/AES) generate the encryption key?

For example, DES has key size of 56 bits, AES has 128/192/256 bits,

When the end user need to use the encryption and select a key, the user select a short key (like password or passphrase), the user don't select manually a 128 bit keys, it must be something understandable for humans, especially if there is a need to provide it to the other party (as it is a symmetric encryption), and all the user need to know is the key,

is it correct to say that the encryption algorithm is using a hashing algorithm to convert the password or passphrase the user selected to the encryption key, which will be in the correct size required for the encryption?

If yes, what hash algorithm is used in DES and AES ?

Thanks in advance for your help

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 axe0

axe0

• Malware Study Hall Junior
  • 329 posts
  •  

Posted 25 February 2018 - 08:24 AM

Hi amichaipinto,

Welcome to BC.