Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Laptop Screen Randomly Goes Black

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 mickchristiansen14

mickchristiansen14

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:28 AM

Posted 12 February 2018 - 11:07 PM

Hello! This is my first time posting on the forum and I hope I've posted in the correct section. Here is the problem I am having. 

I have a Dell Inspiron E1405 that is probably about 11 years old. Recently the screen started to randomly go black. It has done this 3 times so far tonight in the 3 hours I've been using it. It is starting to get really annoying. The thing that I find interesting is that the LCD stays powered on as you can still see the back light. The computer is still on and functioning as music continues to play and so on. The only way to get it to come back on without rebooting is to connect an external monitor to the VGA port and press the "Fn" and F8 (CRT/LCD) button several times. If I do this without connecting an external display, the display will not come back. Also if I hold the power button and reboot it comes back immediately. I think I'm on the latest Intel drivers for the GPU. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what could be going on? I do not want to buy a new computer as I still really like this one and it meets my needs.