Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

OC CPU/GPU advice *Beginner*

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Maliciousupload

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 09 February 2018 - 02:22 PM

Scroll to the bottom if no interest in hearing about my life :D

So I have little knowledge about OC and and attempting to get into it recently after having some spare time on my hands/getting fed up with frame rate drops in bf4.

i7 4790k
Noctua nh-d15
Corsair vengeance pro 8gb X 2
Asus GTX 770 direct cu II
250gb HyperX sad
1tb Seagate HAD

So after owning this rig for around 3 years and doing a bleep job when I first assembled it, have done a proper build that was finished last night!

-Mounted the cooling unit the right way
-Taken out any unnecessary bay trays and orientated all drives above the front case fan to optimize air flow
-Proper cable management to optimize air flow/looks way better
-Flipped the power supply unit so it is exhausting out of the case instead of having its fan pointing into the case haha
-The GPU is now in the proper PCIe express slot instead of the one near the bottom of the board.. lol

Anyways, I have heard lots of negative advice about any of the "auto" software/hardware (gpu tweak, AI suite3, tpu/EZ xmp/epu) and to just do it manually through the BIOS. Which I am fine with but before I get into that I have a couple concerns.