Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

[:HELP:] Guide to update windows to its latest

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Shnxxx

Shnxxx

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:27 PM

Posted 09 February 2018 - 10:35 AM

Hi, I'm new to bleeping computer and this is my first post. :hello: :)

I'm planning to format my laptop because it starts to slow down, I've decided it already and backed-up important files and downloaded essential apps, like installers (.NET Frameworks, vcredist, drivers, utilities) and such. My problem is that, if I format it how can I update it to its latest? What's bothering me if I should download a year-long windows updates and year-long installations? 

I've already searched for it and tried to to my other laptop but it seems doesn't work, some sites tell that I should download KBXXXXX but when I start it, it says "This update is not applicable..." something like that. 

Can someone with a kind-hearted person there will tell me a step-by-step guide to overcome this?

Cheers!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 hamluis

hamluis

• 55,902 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:27 AM

Posted 09 February 2018 - 11:39 AM

Use auto updates...for critical updates only.

If an update it not critical, I don't bother to install it.  This works for me.

Louis

#3 Shnxxx

Shnxxx
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •