Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

will not shut down

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Docderr

Docderr

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:52 AM

Posted 07 February 2018 - 12:14 PM

Hi i'm a newbie to bleeping computer, and i have a problem. My pc will not shut down it just keeps restarting all by it's self. I don't know what to do. can anyone help? Tell me what you need and i'll attach it.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 OldPhil

OldPhil

Doppleganger

• Members
  • 4,235 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:52 AM

Posted 07 February 2018 - 01:42 PM

Try tapping F8 repeatedly when it first tries to start, with luck you will be able to get into Safe Mode.  See if that works then one of the techy guys can assist you.

Phil

Honesty & Integrity Above All!

#3 RolandJS

RolandJS

• Members
  • 4,539 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:52 AM

Posted 07 February 2018 - 02:09 PM

I recommend: disable automatic restart -- and I cannot remember where that "switch" is located, brb if I find it.

Google is our friend:

https://www.google.com/search?q=Windows+7+disable+automatic+restart&oq=Windows+7+disable+automatic+restart&aqs=chrome..69i57.12104j0j1&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

Edited by RolandJS, 07 February 2018 - 02:15 PM.

"Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee."  -- Ben Franklin revisited.