Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Can I run Linux Mint w/ 970 GPU?

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 frldyz

frldyz

• Members
  • 101 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:39 PM

Posted 19 January 2018 - 09:13 AM

Can I run Mint on 3 monitors w/ i7 & GTX 970?

Forgive me if this is a newb. Linux question. But I am a newb. Linux user.

I have been playing around with mint on an old computer that I had laying around in the basement. But I'd like to replace my Win 7 with mint on my main computer

I'm asking this simple question because I recall reading that getting your graphics card to work w/ mint is a nightmare?

I7 4790k

MSI GTX 970 GPU

Gigabyte gaming 3 mobo

16gb Crucial RAM

*I'm not a gamer. So why do I have a 970? I thought it looked cool, the color scheme matches my set-up and I have 3 144mhz monitors.

**Why do I have 3 144mhz monitor if I don't game? They were dirt cheap on sale thru newegg.

*** This computer is used ONLY for online browsing. No gaming. No streaming. No movies or netflix. No wifi. No file storage. Youtube, forums, articles, emails pretty much only.

Thanks everyone.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 MadmanRB

MadmanRB

Spoon!!!!

• Members
  • 3,071 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:39 PM

Posted 19 January 2018 - 09:47 AM

It should work, the Nvidia drivers go very far back for linux users.