Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Fermenting Vegetables for Your Health

• Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 juli77

juli77

• Members
  • 114 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:28 PM

Posted 05 January 2018 - 01:43 PM

I've been fermenting vegetables for about 3 years now, mostly for the health benefits (building up good gut flora) but also because it's delicious! Has anyone else done it? If so, please share your experiences and/or pictures.

You can buy fermented food of course (sauerkraut, kimchi, etc.) but the plus to making your own is you know it has live bacteria in it. Often with purchased fermented food, it's been pasteurized or heated to avoid the jars exploding during shipping.

I've made several different vegetables over the years. Cabbage is still my favourite, but hot peppers is a close second. They're great on homemade pizza (put on after the pizza is cooked to preserve the probiotics). I've also made traditional kimchi. It's more work so I haven't done it in a while. I'll have to make some soon.