Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Floxif 2.0 - Malwarebytes is useless! Please help!

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 jsumm52

jsumm52

• Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:35 PM

Posted 10 December 2017 - 08:21 PM

Hello this is my first time posting to this site and I'm here because I don't know what else to do. I have the premium version of Malwarebytes and yesterday, out of nowhere I started getting all of the real-time protection notifications telling me it was quarantining all of these Trojan.Floxif.AppFlsh files. A bunch of .dll files with random varying names in varying locations. I could barely use my computer because I got a new window every second telling me to reboot my computer to finish the removal process.

It kept tracing the virus to a symsrv.dll file located in C:\Program Files\Common Files\System. I tried to delete the file but couldn't because it was open in a bunch of processes and services including: Adobe Acrobat, SpotifyWebHelper, Steam Bootstrapper, Java Update, Google Update, Nvidia Container, and Malwarebytes itself! I eventually shut down all of the processes it was using including Malwarebytes and I was finally able to delete the file. But when I re-opened MWB, the symsrv.dll file came back! And when scanning with MWB it kept finding three instances of the Floxif.AppFlsh virus.