Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

So Is This Barebone Any Good?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Temo

Temo

• Members
  • 51 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:25 AM

Posted 25 September 2006 - 02:02 PM

Anyways...

So I want to build a computer... I am a broke College student that doesn't have too much money... I got like $350 and maybe later on I will have more...

Anyways... I was thinking about this barebone

Asus Vintage
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16856110055
I think it has integraded graphics (hope it has pixel shader)

Processor - Athlon 64 Orleans 1.8Ghz
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16819103639

Ram - 240 Pin (cheap) 2 x 256
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16820227014

Internal Harddrive - Sata 80GB 8mb catch (I am not sure if this is compatible with my motherboard..)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16822145127

So after all this... Is this worth $322.96
And ... I am not a big gamer, and my best game is Area 51 and Star Wars Commando which both need Pixel Shader which at this time I don't have...

Also... anything else I should look at..

Thanks for any help in advance

Edited by Temo, 25 September 2006 - 02:05 PM.

The biggest pain in this world is Debuging!!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 boopme

boopme

To Insanity and Beyond

• Global Moderator