Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Strange Txt Msgs

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 LittleGreenDots

LittleGreenDots

• Members
  • 444 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:59 PM

Posted 02 December 2017 - 03:38 PM

I am a music teacher and have used Craigslist to advertise for lessons many times.  I often get these very strange txt msgs and I can't figure out what the sender is after. 

"They read something like this:  Hello.  I am looking for a music teacher for my daughter.  Please tell me how much you would charge for three one hour lessons a week, for one month?"

These are absurd terms.  Nobody (except possibly a really seasoned player preparing for a professional career) takes that many lessons a week.

The phone number is listed in the ad (from now on I'm not going to post it in such a way a bot can scan for it, maybe spell out a number or two) so they would assume the number is good, but what can they can from me sending an actual text msg? 

This has stumped me for years.

Thanks.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Chris Cosgrove

Chris Cosgrove

• 6,722 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:59 PM

Posted 02 December 2017 - 07:26 PM

I would suspect 'sucker-bait' of one sort or another. Possibly trying to get you out of the house at a known time with a view to burglary ?  Any number of other scenarios can be imagined.