Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Raid 1 and backups for a complete noob. Help and suggestions

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 pooopoo

pooopoo

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:12 AM

Posted 28 November 2017 - 04:00 PM

Hey

I've recently started doing photography and editing a lot and I find that my old ways of just relying on a laptop's limited capacity and crappy external drives isn't working out well. I've been looking to build a new pc even though i'm not so tech savvy (and know nothing about hardware really), and after some quick research it seemed i had a setup in mind as far as storage goes. I was gonna go for a 256gb or 512gb m.2 ssd, and have two 2tb wd reds (or black) in a raid 1 configuration in the case. After reading some more about it, I have my doubts about raid 1 and whether i need to bother with it. I was also thinking of having some sort of external back-up with larger drives that i could just have on a shelf, and another identical copy of that stored elsewhere on a shelf just in case. 

Now my questions. My doubt about raid 1... Do i have any reason to doubt it if I do periodically back everything up on other drives? When the drives are full and stored somewhere, is it as easy as plug in with an adapter and transfer files if needed?