Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Asus X54C will power on but not boot.

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Verger

Verger

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:09 PM

Posted 25 November 2017 - 11:10 AM

This is my first time posting and I want to thank everyone in advance for their help!

I have an Asus x54c as mentioned, running Win10 64bit V1703 Build 15063.7, Core i3 3rd Gen, 6GB DDR3 SDRAM, 500GB Seagate HDD with stock MoBo and Intel onboard graphics.

I unplugged power, removed the battery, took the KB out and removed the cover, HDD, cleaned the fan, double checked all connectors and devices that I had taken off, and the ones I had not ( just in case I accidentally dislodged something) and then put everything back together.

The laptop worked fine when I started the breakdown, and I have taken it apart to clean it before and to replace HDD and it was always fine when finished. 

This time, however, I went to boot up the machine and it powers on and flashes the ASUS logo and goes to the cursor which blinks once or twice and then it just powers off. I already tried the surge and capacitor build-up release sequence (unplugging power, batt, holding down the power switch for a min or so, etc...) without success!