Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Installing internal hard drive

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 owenh225

owenh225

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:24 AM

Posted 14 December 2004 - 12:48 PM

Hi folks,
I'm new to this web site and maybe some one can help me. HP certainly cannot. Does anyone here know how to get Windows XP to assign a drive letter to a hard drive that the bios and system recognize? My computer wont recognize it. This is probably a Microsoft software problem because they're using D: for recovery.
Thanks,
Owen

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 phawgg

phawgg

Learning Daily

• Members
  • 4,543 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:24 PM

Posted 14 December 2004 - 06:46 PM

Hi, Owen. Using winXP I have seen a number of variations when drives are installed. Partitions, too. Because you mention D:\ is being used as "recovery" I'm thinking that you describe something that HP has done using winXP.

I say that because I have no "recovery" on my PC.