Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Network performance testing

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 Kcals39

Kcals39

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  

Posted 22 November 2017 - 02:31 AM

So I am pretty new to network performance testing, buasically Im trying to test network performance of my wifi connectionbetween a computer and a server. I would like to run through the tests I want to carry out and what I hope to get from them, if you guys think I am on the right track let me know, if you think I am heading in the wrong direction can you offer some quick guidance?

So from my initial research there are a few things I need to test to get an overall picture of a networks performance; Bandwidth, Latency, Jitter and packet loss and network stress.

Bandwidth - Im going to use iPerf3, record the upload speed and throughput and then reverse it to get the download speed and throughput.

One thing I am not sure of with the Bandwidth test is setting the TCP window size. What size should I select or should I just use default? From what I have read increasing the TCP window will result in higher bandwidth capacity but I am not sure how to select the typical TCP window size if you get me.

Latency - Ping Utility, just going to measure the round trip time and packet loss.