Jump to content


 


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.


Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Windows 10 Repair - Reset vs. Refresh vs. In-Place Upgrade


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 sjf99

sjf99

  • Members
  • 66 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:05:18 AM

Posted 20 November 2017 - 02:59 PM

Currently on windows 10 pro version. 1709 (Fall Creators Update).

 

I think I generally understand the differences doing a windows repair between Reset vs. Refresh vs. In-Place Upgrade.

 

However, in terms of third-party applications I am not sure.  Are they totally retained during a repair within windows 10 doing an "in-place upgrade" of windows 10?

 

Does a refresh do the same in terms of third-party applications?

 

Thanks in advance.

 

Scott 



BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

 


#2 britechguy

britechguy

    Been there, done that, got the T-shirt


  • Moderator
  • 7,755 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Staunton, VA
  • Local time:05:18 AM

Posted 20 November 2017 - 04:13 PM

Reset:  what is retained depends entirely on whether you use the "keep my files" option or not.  If you do use that your user data files are maintained, but your apps/desktop application programs (formerly just known as installed programs) are not.  If you do not use it the Reset is effectively a reinstall by another name.

 

Refresh:  I have never used this feature.  From what I can determine from the Microsoft site it is a system restore to "out of the box" condition that uses the recovery partition but that retains your user data files.  I doubt I ever will use this feature.

 

In-Place Update:  Again, depends entirely on what option you use.  The default is "keep my files & apps" which keeps all your user data files and keeps any apps you've downloaded from the Store and/or desktop application programs you have installed.  There can be occasional exceptions if a given desktop app is determined to be incompatible with Windows 10, but I have not had that happen since Version 1511, I believe.  You can also choose "keep my files," in which case it behaves much like a standard reset with "keep my files" but instead of reinstalling the current version it updates you to the latest one.  Keep nothing (I think that's the wording) makes it act essentially the same as a clean install would, wiping everything.


Brian  AKA  Bri the Tech Guy (website in my user profile) - Windows 10 Home, 64-Bit, Version 1803, Build 17134 

      Memory is a crazy woman that hoards rags and throws away food.

                    ~ Austin O'Malley

 

 

 

              

 


#3 sjf99

sjf99
  • Topic Starter

  • Members
  • 66 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:05:18 AM

Posted 20 November 2017 - 06:28 PM

Thanks Brian.



#4 britechguy

britechguy

    Been there, done that, got the T-shirt


  • Moderator
  • 7,755 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Staunton, VA
  • Local time:05:18 AM

Posted 20 November 2017 - 06:32 PM

You're quite welcome.


Brian  AKA  Bri the Tech Guy (website in my user profile) - Windows 10 Home, 64-Bit, Version 1803, Build 17134 

      Memory is a crazy woman that hoards rags and throws away food.

                    ~ Austin O'Malley

 

 

 

              

 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users