Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Webcam Light Flashing Irregularly (I Don't Use the Webcam)

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 jenbleepingjackie

jenbleepingjackie

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:28 AM

Posted 17 November 2017 - 11:10 PM

Hi, I'm Jen. This is my first time posting in these forums. I'm here because I've tried everything I could think of doing safely, but the problem persists. I have a Lenovo Yoga 710-14 (Windows 10) that I've only had since around March. The webcam was literally only used once in the first week when my friend was goofing around with my new computer. Since then, I have not so much as opened the app and the lens has been covered by sticky notes, but the indicator light next to it has started flashing in irregular intervals. I'd say anywhere from 10 seconds to a few minutes. It has probably been a couple weeks since the first episode, but it has started again and persists as I type this. It never stays on for more than a second. It flashes even with the Wi-Fi off. When I first noticed it, I diligently ran an AVG scan. Returned no threats. Then, yes, I tried turning the laptop off and on, which includes updating. Still flashing. I did some research, ended up installing Malwarebytes, and ran that scan. This time, Malwarebytes came up with a few threats. Removed those, and tada! No more flashin