Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

HP Proliant DL180 G6 - Hard Drive size issue - Smart Array P410i RAID controller

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 scottbouch

scottbouch

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:21 PM

Posted 17 November 2017 - 06:02 AM

Hi all, my first post here as I'm a bit desperate for help.

I'm new to the HP Proliant server. I'm also new to RAID controllers and arrays:  I've just bought this machine and 3x 3TB WD Red HDD's for it intended to build a RAID 5 array. It's for home use for CCTV and PLEX media server, Mumble Server, etc.. it will be running CentOS when I've got it working.

-> Basically my wife will kill me if I've bought all this stuff and can't make it work!

It has a PCI card based Smart Array P410i RAID controller, with physical capacity for 12x 3.5" drives.

I've been through the ROM based configuration utility to build a RAID 5 array with these three drives in bays 4,5,6, but the utility only recognises them as 801.6GB, not the full 3TB - see attached image (you'll see I also have some smaller drives installed in bays 1,2,3 - the sizes of which appear ok).

Is this likely to be a card firmware issue? or a ROM configuration utility version issue? do I need to update it / them? if so - how?? (Complete newbie in this realm of server hardware configuration!)