Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

To build or not to build

• Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 D_A_R_K_Knight

D_A_R_K_Knight

• Members
  • 26 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:28 AM

Posted 08 November 2017 - 11:28 PM

background on me:

Im very technically savvy so building would not be an issue, although I have never built a computer before. Usage will be some web browsing, music and movie downloading (iTunes) and I do video game so this will be its main use. I currently play Guild Wars 2 which is an older game by todays standards but may expand out into BF2 and some FP shooter. I moved to Mac about 5 years ago and may come back to Windows. (hate on Mac if u want but its been way more stable than all of my windows machines!! I have been gaming since the 90's)

System I am considering to build:

https://pcpartpicker.com/list/JvY3hq

Some of these parts are over priced on parts picker, I have this down to about $1450.00ish (price spike on the 580 :( )

but here is the question, right now theres a Dell PC (i know i know) for $1299.95 with much more

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/dell-inspiron-desktop-amd-ryzen-7-1700x-32gb-memory-amd-radeon-rx-580-2tb-hard-drive-256gb-solid-state-drive-recon-blue/5901711.p?skuId=5901711