Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Worried about my HDD Health

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 camblongkaras

camblongkaras

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:44 PM

Posted 24 October 2017 - 07:57 AM

Bear with me guys, I'm a novice when it comes to computer hardware problems!

While fixing my brother's computer (which is situated next to mine) my father used my DVD-ROM to store a Windows 7 installer CD which he was going to use to format the said computer. However I had no knowledge of this and he didn't inform me before I turned my computer on; apparently he had tinkered with the boot sequence as well (possibly to test if the CD was working?) so that it would boot to initiate the installer CD. My computer already had a Windows 7 OS installed and it froze up several times for some reason; I assume this was because of the installer CD being initiated but it also conflicted with the existing OS starting up.