Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Windows 10 Update-Loss of NAS Mapped Drives

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Cranbone

Cranbone

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:29 AM

Posted 30 September 2017 - 11:52 PM

Hello everyone.

I'm a newb to Bleeping Computer, so bare with me.

Windows updates (sigh).  My machine seems to work fine post update except that my Seagate BlackArmor 440 NAS can't be reached to view the mapped drives through file explorer.  I get the standard "an error occured..." network error message after clicking on the existing mapped drive. 

The strange thing is that I can access the NAS device page by inputting the IP in a browser, so Windows see it.  I'm able to get in there and change settings, etc.  It just isn't allowing access to the contents of the mapped drives.  The server can be seen in the Network page in file explorer as well.

BlackArmor comes with "BlackArmor Discovery" software that will start the process of setting up server folders.  However, even though it sees the server, clicking on the server IP address, then clicking the "view drive details" button creates an error message: "The Network Path Was Not Found".