Jump to content


 


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.


Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Very slow PC. warning: Clearing erases information stored on the TPM.


  • Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 gray2344

gray2344

  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:04:15 PM

Posted 29 September 2017 - 07:58 PM

Hello, I just bought a new Acer laptop. The item was advertised with windows 10 installed
and was supposed to be a brand new item, but box opened. When I first switched the laptop on, it was very
slow to load up. Immediately after entering a username name and password for the first time, 
a light blue screen came up (looked like a legitimate windows screen) saying a critical windows update 
was required, which took five plus hours to download before I could get to the desktop screen. I believe 
this was windows 10 automatically installing or windows 10 updating, as on the desktop screen, one of the 
few icons to appear was the windows 10 update assistant. 
 
I tried using the PC, but it was very slow. I was hoping it would get better, but having tried for a few 
hours, it didn't improve...so I tried the Acer factory reset to see if it would fix the problem, but it stuck for  well over 3
hours on the same percentage number, saying "resetting this PC."
 
As I had no choice, I turned the PC off and on again, but got the message:
 
"A configuration change was requested to clear this computer's TPM (Trusted Platform Module)
WARNING: Clearing erases information stored on the TPM. You will lose all created keys and access to data 
encrypted by these keys. Press Yes to clear the TPM Press Non to reject the change request and continue."
 
1. Does anybody have an idea of what option should I press to completely remove the 
personal information (as I had typed 1 written document on the PC and saved it?)
 
2. If I am having these problems when it is supposed to be new, do you think it is likely to get worse down 
the line?
 
3. I was wondering, would the document I saved have been wiped when I did the Acer reset, or would it still be on the laptop, as the reset was not completed?
 
Thanks


BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users