Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Firewall Has Been Disabled - Should I Log Onto The Internet To Update Scans?

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 carljamespatton

carljamespatton

• Members
  • 23 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:04 PM

Posted 19 September 2006 - 11:26 AM

Hello

First of all, I am a total noob with computers, so please excuse my ignorance. I've previously had one problem with my home page being reset to some supposedly anti-spyware site -you guys provided great advice on that I was able to follow and we cured the probem. This time, the symptoms are worse. I hope you can help me sort this out too.

But, before I get to far, I've read the preparation instructions on the site and am half-way thru the prescribed procedure to run a highjack this log. However, it has just occured to me that being on the internet with my computer in it's present state might not be sensible. So, I've stopped for now, and I'll tell you what is happening, and you can tell me if I should stay off the internet and not run some of the suggested scans, like Panda. I still have the High Jack This tool from your help earlier this year, does it need to be updated, or can I use the version I had back in February?