Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Definite infection, seeking help

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 jdprebe7

jdprebe7

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  

Posted 24 September 2017 - 03:52 AM

I stupidly managed to get a virus downloading something I thought was safe, and now I'm stuck with the consequences. This is my first time dealing with one, so I'm not sure how to deal with it anymore than I already have. I've tracked down as many files as I could, going through the random processes running on my task manager that aren't supposed to be there and tracking their file locations and deleting them, however there are a couple of locked folders containing more files that I can't get to. I've tried resources like FileAssassin and RKill, but they won't delete the files and RKill isn't even detecting the malware to stop it. My PC is virtually unusable at the moment, as my CPU usage stays at at least constantly due to the malware processes (it was at 100% but I brought it down through deleting as many files as possible). I've tried multiple ways of accessing those locked folders, but nothing has worked. I've went into the security tab and tried to change the ownership/permissions, and I've even went into the registry and edited the values to give myself a "take ownership" option, yet nothing would work.