Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

My WiFi is Terrible

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 technomaniac

technomaniac

• Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:38 AM

Posted 04 September 2017 - 09:27 PM

Hey guys!

I am a geek. That's not a question. But even this problem, while I have lots of experience with networks, is beyond me.

I have had this ASUS Q302LA laptop for 3 or so years now. It's wifi was totally fine back when I first got it. A year or so ago, it started having problems, though. My wifi stopped working well. When I used to get 25Mbps in my room, I suddenly started getting around 1.5Mbps there instead. I thought it was my monitors blocking the signal, so I moved them and saw a short burst of speed, then back to 1.5Mbps again. So, I thought it was the adapter.

I tried 2 different wifi adapters inside my computer, one was an older one from my previous HP laptop (the laptop was crap, so of course being HP the laptop broke twice) and I tried another from eBay. While these wifi adapters weren't anything fancy or top notch, they could still do the job, but they didn't. They also worked for a few minutes to a few hours or so, then went back to my original 1.5Mbps. Moving on, what about an external wifi adapter.