Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Bsod Help!

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 gr3yg00s3

gr3yg00s3

• Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:08 AM

Posted 17 September 2006 - 02:11 AM

I've found solutions in on this forum in the past, but this is my first time posting. I haven't had any problems with my computer until about 3 or 4 days ago. I went to run the Windows update, that is set to download automatically but ask me before install. So I review the updates and then I choose to install them, as soon as the install starts I get a BSOD. It says something along the lines of PAGE_FILE_NOT_FOUND_IN_PAGE_AREA. Well I reboot and try running the updates again, thinking wow that was weird probably just a fluke or whatever. Now before this update, I hadn't installed any new software or hardware, or updated any drivers in quite sometime. Well after looking on google for a bit, I find out the message usually concerns drivers or bad RAM. I ran 2 different diag tools from my work on the memory and they passed fine. I decide to restore/repair Windows since I can't reformat right now since I have too much data that would need to be backed up and I can't afford another HD right now. After restoring/repairing Windows I ran CHKDSK /R and it came back fine, no errors or bad sectors. So I decided to then try the Windows update again, this time